Baking frenzy!!!

I have been obsessed with making scones lately – probably because they are the easiest thing to make, and let’s face it, i’ve never been exactly a Susie homemaker type.
I invented this recipe with some inspiration from my lovely elderly neighbour and from my boyfriend’s mum’s recipe too…
To make Ange’s choc and date scones… take 3 cups of self raising flour (I used organic flour), 1 cup of cream (I used diet cream) and 1 cup of milk (again… diet milk). Plunk the flour in a bowl (the bigger the better for me cos I make a mess!) and make a well in the middle. Pour the milk and cream in, realise you’ve forgotten to turn the oven on and put your floury hands on the oven dial and turn it to 220 degrees C (sorry, I’m hopeless, can someone comment with the farenheit conversion?)….
Go back to your mess, and use a butter knife to gently stir the mixture together. Realise that shit, you also forgot to chop the dates and compound (dark) chocolate, so make a mess of a clean knife doing this. Try not to cut your fingers off because they’re all slippery now because you dropped the knife into the mixture earlier. OK, once they’re chopped – bung them in the raw mixture. Stir everything gently together until it looks pretty gluey.
Chuck some more flour onto a chopping board and turn out your gluey mess onto the board. Knead it verrrry gently (otherwise your scones will resemble cricket balls in appearance and texture) and flatten into about a 2 inch thick round. Use a scone cutter (in my case, a scotch glass) and cut them out.
Pop them onto a greased (or baking papered) tray and chuck it all in the oven. Wait about 15 minutes, take a couple of pics for your blog post (oh, that was for me, only if you intend to blog about your efforts) and take them out of the oven.

Congratulate yourself profusely for your culinary efforts and tell the world!!!!! Oh, you can use sugar too if you want, but i didn’t as the choc and dates are really sweet… and so is the cream… mmmm (I bought the cream pre-whipped from the shops – too lazy to do my own!

(pictures – top one is finished product that lasted about 2 seconds before it was eaten. Second one is them in the oven. Nifty towel by Kerri of kerrishangups.

voila!!!!! mmmm i can just feel the kilos piling on now! Can I eat another one?
About angelenefay

http://angelene.com.au
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Baking frenzy!!!

  1. carmel says:

    Yummy! You should write a cookbook ange-I like your recipe 🙂

  2. carina says:

    i am definitely going to try it! probably using your rather complicated method too :)and i will definitely eat at least 6 and i wont worry about the kilos….just enjoy!!

  3. Leah says:

    I would eat another, they look delicious!

  4. Owl and Fox says:

    It would probably cause me to explode from wheat/dairy/sugar intolerance – but damn that looks tasty! I wonder if I could make them with gluten free flour, lactose free yohgurt, and soy milk? Hmmm…

Leave a Reply

