Why It’s Good To Be A Sweaty Pretzel


Bikram Yoga. Ever heard of it? I hadn’t, until late last year when my boyfriend’s boss’s wife mentioned it to me. This woman has had two children and is fitter than me in my mid-twenties sans kidlets. So naturally, I was interested.
Bikram Yoga is hatha yoga. Don’t be confused into thinking it’s a new type of yoga – it isn’t. What it is, is a very specific ‘prescription’ of 26 yoga poses, designed to completely renovate your body, from the inside out, bones to skin.
It was developed by an indian bloke called Bikram Choudhury as a ‘one size fits all’ approach to the many ailments modern people suffer from. Got a bum neck? Got tennis elbow or tendonitis from sitting at a computer? Try Bikram.
This 90 minute session will test your willpower, strength, endurance and pores like never before. You will sweat, cry (this happens alot) and wake up in the middle of the night with the words “LOCK THE KNEE” (insider joke), but it is seriously addictive. I have personally suffered from anxiety, depression, stress, neck and back pain – you name it. But I have never felt better. In fact, I’ve never looked better (even with a couple of extra kilos I still reckon I look better than I did at 45kg at 20 years old!). And, I can quite easily cope with stresses that would have floored me years before.
I practice at Kylie’s studio in Capalaba in Brisbane. I urge you to give it a shot! Even if it is only to tell your friends at parties that you’re really hardcore cos you did Bikram once! Even once will give you a step forward in your health.
About angelenefay

http://angelene.com.au
This entry was posted in bikram, health, wellbeing, yoga. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Why It’s Good To Be A Sweaty Pretzel

  1. michvanetta says:

    Sounds wonderful Ange, I’d love to get back into Yoga or Pilates, it’s soooooo good for body and mind.

  2. Penny says:

    Really? Interesting! Not sure about the crying, but everything else sounds good. I have only dabbled in yoga before, but you’re making it sound very appealing!

  3. lyptis says:

    Ah shit blogger ate my comment!:P(not impressed somehow!)Hey yeah, you do make it sound appealing and if i was up north i wud try it with u..BUT, i dont like the sound of sweat and tears..But i Do like the ‘sweaty pretzel’ headline!;P

  4. Owl and Fox says:

    isn’t yoga fabulous!? It’s my favourite part of the day 🙂 Husbands mum is a hatha yoga instructor, I haven’t tried bikram though.

  5. Natalia says:

    I’m looking forward to trying Bikram once we move (atm, the only place is 30km away and v v exxy!)

  6. AnastasiaC says:

    i love yoga class…got to get my arse back to it!! really!!that illo is fantastic – very inspiring and yep makes your body supple!

Leave a Reply

